rss YouTube Logo Facebook Logo twitter Logo linkedin tumblr Logo YouTube Logo

  • The Dorian Mode

    The Dorian Mode is the second Mode of the Major scale and it contains 7 notes:

    R, 2, b3, P4, P5, 6, b7

    In a C Dorian Mode the Notes are:

    C, D, Eb, F, G, A, Bb

    Below I have listed all of the one and two octave positions that I use for playing the Dorian mode. Some start with the 1st finger on your frethand whereas others start with the 2nd finger and some start with your 4th finger. Feel free to play around with them and experiment with fingering of your own.

    An easy way to remember the Dorian Mode is to note that it is a Mixolydian scale with a Minor 3rd- so only one note is different.

    One Octave Positions

    Dorian Mode One Octave  

    Two Octave Positions

    Dorian Mode 2 Octaves  

    Make sure that you practice the Dorian Mode in all 12 keys on the Guitar!